Forums Forums TESTING New Forum Several messages that I had closed are all open again

  • Several messages that I had closed are all open again

     marilynfl updated 1 week, 2 days ago 2 Members · 3 Posts
  • marilynfl

    Member
    March 30, 2021 at 9:40 am

    Not sure what’s up with that. I clicked the little eyeball thingee to say I’d read them.

    (Did your experienced software designer heart just give a little shiver at my inept reference to whatever that eyeball thingee is?)

  • Paul

    Administrator
    March 30, 2021 at 2:44 pm

    Let us distinguish. Up top where your avatar/username shows to the right are a little inbox icon and a bell icon. The former are your messages (private or direct messages /pms / dms) and the bell represents notifications. Notifications are for various things that happen on the site mostly related to interactions with other members. So a new message could be one reason you get a notification, a connection request could be another, a connection accepted, a new follower

    If either icon has a little bubble with a number attached to it, that means there are that many “unread” and clicking that icon will show you the unread messages (inbox icon) notifications (bell icon)

    As far as I know, there is no place where a little eyeball thingee appears for messages. There is however such an icon for notifications. When you see the eye icon it means that a notification is unread. if you click it you’ll see an eye with a slash through it, meaning that it was already read. If you click that, it will transform again back into the icon without the slash (unread)

    So it could be that you marked some notifications as read, and these notifications were for messages that you received. The actual messages would remain unread until you actually read them. In the messages inbox, there is no eye icon. But you can mark individual messages as read/unread. If a messages is unread and you click the message, it will automatically go to read status.

    • marilynfl

      Member
      April 1, 2021 at 2:45 pm

      ah, I must have closed and then REOPENED them. Okay. Didn’t realize I could do that. So READ is not equal to DELETE. Got to remember that.

      Thank you.

Log in to reply.

Original Post
0 of 0 posts June 2018
Now