Jam tastes like paste

lana-in-fl

I seldom use pectin when making jam, but my strawberry jam was runny and my plum jam was not as set as I like it, though I was sure I had taken them up to 222F. I had used a bit of pectin powder to make mint jelly, which came out beautifully, so decided to make my second batch of plum jam with pectin. I could only find the liquid pectin. I followed the results exactly (except that I used the immersion blender on the cooked plums, because I always do) and it came out looking good. DH and SIL both think it's good, but to me it tastes like paste. DD says she can taste what I do, but can still get a plum flavor. I am most upset - I have 8 cups of icky sweet stuff and ruined 3 lb of delicious plums Did I do something wrong?

oh...this is bizarre. I rarely, like maybe once every two years, make jam and I just made peach jam last night using liquid pectin. Which I've never used before! Oh bugger. I'm going to open one of the jars and taste it now. I did manage to burn the entire bottom of the stock pot while I was meticulously skimming off the foam of the barely bubbling jam. Then, when it was all nice and clear, I stirred from the bottom and it was a grade-school volcano experiment gone CRAZY, bubbling like the cauldron in Macbeth! I actually leapt back...which is not a pretty sight to see, let me tell you.

Was your pectin a darkish color and very thick? Because I was expecting clear and this recipe used both 3-oz packages.

Okay....cracking one now to taste it....

whew...mine is okay, but not set AT ALL. The instructions did say it could take up to TWO WEEKS to set so I was planning on just sticking them down in the basement pantry and forgetting about them. Now this is Wild Turkey bourbon jam, so it definitely has that slightly boozy taste, but it's not paste-y at all.