ISO: ISO good tomatoe plants...I'm trying to grow my own this year (more)

In Search Of:

evan

I know I did read about some people here growing their own tomatoes a few years back but I wasn't really into gardening then.

Now I am, and I really need some tips on what tomatoes to grow. Which ones tastes good? Should I have beef or cherry tomatoes, or both? How many kinds did you grow?

I'd really appreciate some help because my garden center has got like 20 different kinds of tomatoe seeds. I'm not supposed to have one of each I hope smileys/wink.gif))

Look in Seed Savers for heirloom tomatoes like

German Johnson, mortgage lifter, cherokee purple, etc. They by far have the best flavor.

Hi Eva - I've been growing tomatoes in the backyard for many years, and...

I always start with plants, not seeds. Just convenience, I guess, but I have never even SEEN tomato seeds for sale. At least around here, maybe because of the late start of winter here in NYS, which I am assuming you probably have there in Norway, too. So that way, when you plant them, they have already "taken hold" unlike seeds which would take about another month to get to the same point of growth.

We usually have 2-3 different kinds, because that way you always have something ripe at one time or another. Also, you might want to plant a few plants a week or so after the first ones, then a few more 2 weeks later, etc. for the same reason.

We always have Beefsteak (meaty, large, sweet, bright red) as well as "Early Girl" (smaller, but very plentiful, slightly less sweet than Beefsteak; and, of course, they ripen pretty quickly). We usually have grape tomatoes, too. Not sure which kind.

About 4-6 plants of each, in an area about 10 feet x 7 feet. Make sure they have a lot of sun, and if it's a warm summer, you'll have waaaay too many - enough to share with friends.

Hi Eva, I've been growing my own tomatoes fo rhte past few years, and this