ISO: ISO Wedding Cake Bakers..(more--long)

In Search Of:

jennifer_in_ma

Sorry, this is a bit long, but I could really use some help!

My sister-in-law is getting married in June. She has asked me to make her wedding cake. Now, I have made about three wedding cakes for other people, but I am no expert. The thing is, she wants a chocolate cake w/ raspberry filling. At first she wanted chocolate frosting, but has now decided on white buttercream. All of the cakes that I have made prior to this have been white cakes. Since she knows that I have made cakes for other people, I really couldn't say no, but I am being to question my sanity!

I have The Cake Bible (Rose Levy Beranbaum), so today I thought that I would do a trial run of the choc butter cake for 150 (I only made the 6" and 9" part of the recipe). I have tried a regular size choc cake from her book before. No matter what size, I seem to have the same problem--it turns out a bit dry and crumbly. I don't think that I overbaked it, because I was testing the cakes pretty regularly, and took them out as soon as I had a crumb free test. I made a raspberry simple syrup w/ Chambourd. I split one layer and moistened it w/ the syrup, wrapped it well and put it in the freezer. I then split another layer, moistened it and did a crumb coat w/ Wilson's basic buttercream (butter, shortening, x-sugar) and put that in the freezer. I left the little one out for my hubby, but when we tasted it, it was pretty crumbly. He ate it anyways. smileys/smile.gif

So, does anyone have a good chocolate cake recipe, preferably in amounts and such to make a three tiered wedding cake (12", 9" & 6")? Beranbaum always advises against using a regular sized cake recipe and putting it in a larger pan, but I am beginning to think that I might just have to.